top of page

How To Get Your Marriage License in Florida

Bride and groom walking on Pinellas County beach

If planning to get married in Florida, a marriage license can be applied for in any county within the state of Florida, and you may be married in any county within Florida with that license.

The completed license HAS to be returned to the issuing county’s Clerk’s office. The only state this license is valid in is Florida.

Marriage Licenses are only valid for a 60-day period.

State of Florida Marriage License Requirements

  • Age: To apply for a marriage license you must be 18 years of age or older, unless authorized by a judge in certain situations.

  • Blood tests are NOT required.

  • Completion of the EMarriage Application online. The EMarriage Application form is required and has to be filled out before obtaining a Marriage License from the Clerk’s office. This online application form can be filled out and completed prior to coming into the Clerk’s office at your convenience. Alternatively, you can use a public terminal located within the Clerk’s office in locations that offer Marriage services.

  • Both applicants planning on getting married must go to the Clerk’s office in person to apply for the marriage license. Each party must provide their proof of age, and social security number and fill out his/ her section on the application. If either applicant is from a foreign country (not a citizen of the United States) an alien registration or other proof with their alien registration number on it will need to be provided. If either applicant has been previously married, they must include the legal termination date of the prior marriage. Both people are required to access/ read the information contained in Florida’s Family Law Handbook and will need to sign off, verifying both did complete this step. The Clerk’s website has this handbook available for viewing. A copy of the handbook will be provided to you when you come into the office to apply for the marriage license if you have not read the handbook prior to arriving.

Florida residents have a 3-day waiting period unless a 4-hour premarital course has been taken and completed.

There is no waiting period for International Residents and Out of State Residents.

About the Premarital Preparation Course for Florida Weddings

Both applicants must sign, agreeing that they did complete the premarital preparation course offered by a qualified provider who has been registered with the Clerk’s office. A list of qualified, registered providers is offered in any Clerk’s office that offers marriage licensing services and also is available on the Clerk’s website. To check to see if a course provider is qualified and registered, please visit Recording Services & Official Records Services as County Recorder, Marriage Licenses and Ceremonies and Passport Applications or call (727) 464-4876.

When the no-less-than-four-hour course has been completed, the provider will issue a certificate of completion. When you, a Florida resident present this certificate to the Clerk your fees for the marriage license will be reduced. The couple has one year prior to the date of application for the license to complete the course.

Important Information about Florida Marriage Licenses:

  • Florida residents that did complete the premarital prepa ration course by a qualified, registered provider and have possession of their certificate of completion will be given a marriage license that is effective the same day of the application. Applicants who do not have the completion certificate will be issued a license that is not in effect until three days after the day it is applied for.

  • Non-Florida residents will be given a marriage license that is effective on the day of application.

  • Florida residents can complete a form that requests a waiver regarding the three-day waiting period requirement. The waiver can be obtained in the Recording Department. Both parties have to be present and sign this request, which will need to be approved by a judge. The solemnization of the marriage must occur within 60 days of the issue date on the marriage license.

  • For more information call the Clerk’s Recording Services at (727) 464-4876 or visit


  1. In the State of Florida, brides and grooms are required to acquire a Florida Marriage License.

  2. Florida residents have a 3-day waiting period unless a 4-hour premarital course has been taken and finished.

  3. There is no waiting period for International Residents and Out of State Residents.

To obtain a marriage license in Pinellas County

The bride and groom must go to a local courthouse and provide a valid ID. There is a 3-day waiting period for Florida residents and no waiting period for non-Florida residents. To avoid the marriage waiting period, there is an online premarital course that can be taken.

Pinellas County Clerk of Court Local Offices:

Clearwater Main Office315 Court Street, Clearwater, FL 33756. Phone: (727) 464-7000

North County Branch Office29582 U.S. 19 North, Clearwater, FL 33761. Phone: (727) 464-7000

Tyrone Branch1800 66th Street North, St. Petersburg, FL 33710. Phone: (727) 464-7000

St. Petersburg Main Office545 First Avenue North, St. Petersburg, FL 33701. Phone: (727) 464-7000


bottom of page